Wilsen / Announce Album 'I Go Missing In My Sleep' & Share New Track 'Heavy Steps'

Wilsen IGMIMS album artwork sml
Tamsin Wilson, the songwriter, guitarist and singer for the band Wilsen, composed many of the songs for her full-length debut ‘I Go Missing In My Sleep’ in a tiny Brooklyn apartment in the fleeting pre-dawn moments when New York City is mostly still.  These beautifully crafted original pieces capture an almost impossible sense of delicate quietness, and when it came time to record them with the band - Drew Arndt on bass and Johnny Simon on guitar – they unfurled at a nexus of hushed and heart-racing, intimate folk paired with muscular yet restrained sonic experimentation.  ‘I Go Missing In My Sleep’ will be released in the UK on April 28th via Kobalt/Dalliance Recordings.
Listen to “Heavy Steps”, featured at NPR Music (link) and now available via YouTube.  
Tamsin, a dual U.K./Canadian citizen originally from London, founded Wilsen while enrolled at Berklee College of Music in Boston.  There she met Drew Arndt and Johnny Simon.  The trio relocated to New York City after graduation, where they have been making “spectral, towering dream-folk...songs that careen on the edge of losing control,” says Stereogum.
Wilsen burst onto the independent music scene in 2013 with the self-released double-EP ‘Sirens,’ and 2014’s EP ‘Magnolia.’  Tours with Daughter, Matthew E White, San Fermin and shows with London Grammar soon followed.  Wye Oak remixed a song for the ‘Magnolia’ remix EP along with Sun Glitters, Death Vessel and White Hinterland.  Tamsin has lent her vocals to Honne's "Coastal Love" single and her vocal line is used in a SBTRKT song. In 2016, the self-released single “Garden” grew quickly on Spotify and is nearing 2.5 million streams. 
‘I Go Missing In My Sleep’ begins with “Centipede,” an eerie, flowing song that sets the tone for the album.  Tamsin’s voice coos and soars, an intimate delivery that often hovers on the edge of a confident whisper.  Round and resonant bass, icy flourishes of guitar and crisp, taut drums propel the song, showered in synths, samples, and echoes.  “Garden” hits a faster pace, punched up with tom hits, rim snaps and swells of sound that build and break. “A Parting” illustrates how Wilsen employs restraint.  It pulses quietly with an anxious, steady beat punctuated by subtle bursts of texture that ripple and resonate.
The album was recorded with producer Ben Baptie (Lianne Le Havas, Lapsley, Mark Ronson) in upstate New York and at The Farm Studio outside of Philadelphia.  Wilsen will tour internationally in 2017 with dates to be announced.
‘I Go Missing In My Sleep’ Tracklisting: 
1. Centipede 
2. Garden 
3. Kitsilano 
4. Heavy Steps 
5. Otto 
6. Light Between The Leaves 
7. Dusk 
8. A Parting 
9. Emperor 
10. Final 
11. Told You
‘I Go Missing In My Sleep’ is available for pre-order now from here