Daniel Johnston / special edition box set announced for Record Store Day

Untitled design 69

Details have been announced for a special edition vinyl boxset of Daniel Johnston’s work to be released as part of the rescheduled Record Store Day 2020.

The boxset marks the first posthumous release for Daniel Johnston, following his untimely passing from a suspected heart attack in September 2019.

Entitled ‘The End Is Never Really Over’, the boxset will bring together vinyl copies of two much loved Daniel Johnston albums, ‘1990’ and ‘Artistic Vice’. ‘1990’ was, logically, released in 1990 whilst ‘Artistic Vice’ followed it up in 1991. This box set release marks the first time both of these records have been pressed on vinyl and issued back into circulation in 10 years.

500 copies of the special edition boxset will be available worldwide at participating Record Store Day locations on the rescheduled date of Saturday 29th August 2020. Alongside the rare vinyl copies, the box set will also include seven stickers of Daniel’s distinguished doodles, a further 16-page artbook of Daniel’s drawings, as well as a ‘Jeremiah the Frog’ pin - the much-loved character from the cover art of Daniel’s ‘Hi How Are You’ album - and expanding the collaboration between Daniel Johnston and FOLK Clothing, the boxset will also include an exclusive high-quality FOLK t-shirt with Daniel’s Captain America ‘End of the Show’ drawing.

Full details of participating record stores and other special releases available as part of this year’s event can be found at the official Record Store Day website.

A Side
1. Devil Town
2. Spirit World Rising
3. Held the Hand
4. Lord Give me Hope
5. Some Things Last a Long Time
5. Tears Stupid Tears
7. Don't Play Cards with Satan

B Side
1. True Love Will Find You In The End
2. Got to get you into my Life
3. Careless Soul
4. Funeral Home
5. Softly and Tenderly

'Artistic Vice'
A Side
1. My Life is Starting Over
2. Honey I Sure Miss You
3. I Feel so High
4. A Ghostly Story
5. Tell Me Now
6. Easy Listening
7. I Know Casper
8. Startling Facts

B Side
1. Hoping
2. It's Got to be Good
3. Happy Soul
4. The Dream is Over
5. Love of My Life
6. I Killed the Monster
7. Laurie
8. Fate Will Get Done