Swimming Tapes / Announce 'Soft Sea Blue' EP, Share 'Queen's Parade' Video

Swimming Tapes square

Swimming Tapes will release their second EP, ‘Soft Sea Blue’ on 15th September via Hand In Hive / B3SCI. The follow up to their debut EP, ‘Souvenirs’, ‘Soft Sea Blue’ finds Swimming Tapes continuing to evolve their dreamy shoegaze.

Produed by Adam Jaffrey (Gengahr, Palace, Leif Erikson), sun-drenched melodies abound on the 4-tracks with intricately meandering guitar parts weaving to form a haze of sound that transports the listener to sunny climes. Alongside the EP announcement, Swimming Tapes have today unveiled the video for their current single ‘Queen’s Parade’ which has been gathering momentum and substantial support across BBC Radio 1 - most recently added as a New Name track on the Annie Mac show.

Directed by Zoe Mead from Hand In Hive label-mates Wyldest, the nostalgic video for ‘Queen’s Parade’ was shot in the band’s adoptive hometown of London.

Watch the official video for ‘Queen’s Parade’ via YouTube here.

‘Swimming Tapes arrived in 2016 with a self released demo track, ‘Souvenirs’, which quickly won them acclaim from the blogging world. Follow up tracks ‘Set The Fire’ and ‘Cameos’ saw them reach the top spot on the Hype Machine chart, earned the band their first play from BBC Radio 1, and tipped them well over 1 million track streams on Spotify, firmly cementing the London-based five piece as ones to watch for 2017 and the band have more than delivered.  In recent months they’ve sold out their first ever London headline show, played an official showcase in front of a packed out crowd at The Great Escape, and played Dot To Dot and Live At Leeds festivals. Marking the EP’s release in September, Swimming Tapes will return to London to headline The Lexington on 20th September with more dates to be announced.

Tickets for the London show are on sale now here.


1. When We Can Hide

2. Alison

3. What's On Your Mind

4. Queen's Parade  

‘Soft Sea Blue’ will be available digitally and on very limited edition 12” vinyl. Pre-order the EP here